Muralitharan first Sri Lankan in ICC Hall of Fame

Muralitharan first Sri Lankan in ICC Hall of Fame

April 19, 2017   06:17 pm


  Sri Lanka Cricket has announced that former off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, who becomes the first Sri Lankan to be voted into the ICC Hall of Fame, will be formally inducted during the ICC Champions Trophy in June. He will be formally inducted into it, along with the late England fast bowler George Lohmann, the late Australia opener Arthur Morris and former Australia Women captain Karen Rolton.

Murali is the leading wicket-taker in both Tests and ODIs, and one of only two players to tally over a 1000 wickets in international cricket, in a career that spanned 19 years, from 1992 to 2011.

Lohmann, who played in the 1880s and 1890s, became the fastest bowler to 100 Test wickets when he got to the landmark in March 1896, in his 16th match, and the record has stood for the 120 years since. 

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.