South Africa opt to bat in T20 opener

South Africa opt to bat in T20 opener

September 10, 2021   07:15 pm


South Africa won the toss and elected to bat in the first of three Twenty20 internationals against Sri Lanka in Colombo on Friday.

After a thumping against South Africa in the ODI series, Sri Lanka will now set their eyes on the T20Is. They will look to avenge their 3-0 defeat against South Africa away from home. 

Notably, Sri Lanka defeated Keshav Maharaj led side 2-1 in the ODI series. Sri Lanka would also draw inspiration from their last T20I series against India.

Sri Lanka is ranked 9th in the ICC T20I rankings while South Africa is ranked 5th. Both the teams will eye to test their bench strength ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup which is scheduled to take place later this year in UAE. 

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Avishka Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal(w), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj(c), Kagiso Rabada, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.