Ranil elected as President…

July 20, 2022  



According to the Presidential Elections (Special Provisions) Act (No. 2 of 1981), Acting President and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was elected today (20) by the majority vote of the Members of Parliament.

The names of the Acting President and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Member of Parliament, Dullas Alahapperuma and Member of Parliament Anura Kumara Dissanayaka were proposed yesterday (19) for the office of President.

Accordingly, at the election which was held today (20) in Parliament, Ranil Wickramasinghe received 134 votes whereas Dullas Alahapperuma received 82 votes. Anura Kumara Dissanayaka received 03 votes. 

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Picture Stories

Most Viewed Video Stories



70-year-old critically injured after being crushed by fallen utility pole

Over 120 millimetres of rainfall recorded in Kukuleganga, Kalutara

Social Security Levy to be added to LECO to electricity bills from September

Another electricity tariff hike in October?

Maintaining both financial, social stability important - IMF on DDO programme (English)

President Ranil holds bilateral talks with Germany, Kazakhstan leaders (English)

Social Security Levy to be added to LECO electricity bills from this month (English)