General Election: Recognized parties not subjected to deposits

General Election: Recognized parties not subjected to deposits

November 12, 2018   11:43 pm

The gazette notification has been issued with regard to the security cash deposits of independent groups contesting in the 2019 Parliamentary election.

Under Section 16 of Parliamentary Elections Act, independent groups are subjected to deposit a calculated sum of Rs 2000 with the returning officer for each respective candidate nominated by the group.

The gazette notification further noted that the candidates representing recognized political parties are not slated to deposit security money for nomination papers.

The deposits will be accepted at District Secretariats and District Election Offices, the Elections Commission stated.

Each nomination paper should include the names of candidates that totals to the number of Members to be elected for that electoral district and of three more candidates.

Accordingly, the number of Members elected for the Parliament from each district is as follows: 19 for Colombo; 18 Gampaha; 15 Kurunegala; 12 for Kandy; 11 for Ratnapura; 10 for Kalutara and Galle and 9 for Anuradhapura and Kegalle; 8 for Puttalam, Nuwara Eliya and Badulla; 7 for Marata, Hambantota, Jaffna and Digamadulla; 6 for Vanni and Monaragala; 5 for Batticaloa, Polonnaruwa and Matale; and 4 members for Trincomalee.

Jaffna and Kilinochchi administrative districts belong to Jaffna electoral division while Mannar, Vavuniya and Mullaitivu districts belong to Vanni electoral division.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories