Sri Lanka extends travel ban to 11 countries

Sri Lanka extends travel ban to 11 countries

March 13, 2020   05:25 pm

Sri Lanka has extended the travel ban to a total of 11 countries, adding eight more countries to the list.

The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has announced that all travel beginning from France, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, Denmark, Netherlands, Sweden and Austria will be banned for two weeks with effect from March 15.

The travel ban will commence on all flights arriving after 2359hrs (local time in Sri Lanka) on March 15 and it will come to an end on 2400hrs (local time in Sri Lanka) on March 29, Chairman of CAA Upul Dharmasena said issuing a communiqué.

During the aforementioned time period, all airlines are strongly instructed not to board any passenger, who is either originating from the aforementioned countries or who had been to these countries within the last 14 days, during in any of their flights destined to Sri Lanka.

Earlier today, the CAA informed all online and offline carriers not to carry passengers to Sri Lanka from three coronavirus-hit countries – Italy, South Korea and Iran. The travel ban to these three countries will be in effect from tomorrow (14).

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories